5 Star Reviews · Blog Tour

#BlogTour #BookReview – Wartime Brides and Wedding Cakes by Amy Miller @AmyBratley1 @bookouture #Historical #Romance #Fiction #Book #Review

I’m delighted be part of the blog tour for Wartime Brides and Wedding Cakes, written by Amy Miller and published by Bookouture 🙂

Blurb:

January, 1941: As Charlie Barton tiptoes silently out of the house one cold winter morning to go off and fight for his country, his wife Audrey is left to run the family bakery on her own.

Times are tougher than ever, but at the Barton Bakery in Bournemouth, Audrey is determined as always to serve the town with love, loaves and cakes, even as the town is reeling from the struggles of the Blitz.

Audrey’s brother William has returned from battle with serious wounds. His fiancé Elsie is waiting for wedding bells, but William is a changed man, and will her hopes be in vain?

Bakery helper Maggie has her heart set on dashing officer George. But will George still want to marry her when he discovers the truth about her family?

And Lily, Audrey’s stepsister, is struggling to raise her illegitimate baby and facing judgement from many in the town. The man who broke her heart returns with an offer, and Lily faces a hard decision about where her future lies.

When disaster strikes the bakery, Audrey fears that everything she has worked for may be ruined. With her shop threatened and her family in turmoil, can she fight to save everything she holds dear?

Wartime Brides and Wedding Cakes is a romantic and heart-warming tale of cakes and confetti, perfect for fans of Sheila Newberry, Nadine Dorries and Ellie Dean.

Wartime-Brides-and-Wedding-Cakes-Kindle

My Review:

I loved reading Heartaches and Christmas Cakes a few months ago, so I’ve been looking forward to Wartime Brides and Wedding Cakes, which is the next book in this heart-breaking yet heart-warming series. Guess what, I loved this too.

I adore the wonderful characters in the Wartime Bakery series. It’s impossible not to get emotionally involved with what they’re going through and the struggles they have to face during wartime. Seeing them have to cope with rations made me realise how much many of us take food for granted these days. I also have no idea how on earth they coped with the fear of air raids, not knowing which home would be destroyed or loved one lost.

Wartime Brides and Wedding Cakes is a touching story of family, friendship and love wrapped up in the stark reality of war.

This can be read as a standalone book, but I would highly recommend reading Heartaches and Christmas Cakes if you want to get to know the characters and their stories from the start. Having loved the first book and the second book, I can’t wait to find out what happens to the characters and this close-knit community in the next book.

5 Stars

5-stars-buttons

Where to find this book:

Goodreads

Amazon UK

About the Author:

Amy Miller author pic

Amy Miller lives in Dorset with her husband and two children. New to saga, she has previously written women’s fiction under a different name.

Where to find the author:

Twitter

Facebook

Here are the details of the blog tour in case any of you wish to follow it:

Wartime Bride and Wedding Cakes - Blog Tour

Advertisements

One thought on “#BlogTour #BookReview – Wartime Brides and Wedding Cakes by Amy Miller @AmyBratley1 @bookouture #Historical #Romance #Fiction #Book #Review

Comments are closed.