5 Star Reviews · Blog Tour

#BlogBlitz #BookReview A Cosy Candlelit Christmas by Tilly Tennant @TillyTenWriter @bookouture

I’m delighted to be part of the blog blitz for A Cosy Candlelit Christmas, written by Tilly Tennant and published by Bookouture 🙂

Blurb:

All singleton Isla wants for Christmas is to be left in peace, but a surprise trip to the Alps means there’s a chance for romance in every snowflake that falls…

It’s the week before Christmas and Isla McCoy has just received an unexpected gift: a letter announcing she is due a life-changing inheritance, but only if she’s willing to make amends with the father who abandoned her.

She has absolutely no intention of forgiving him, but who could resist an all-expenses-paid trip to the French resort of St Martin-de-Belleville?

There she meets smooth-talking Justin and nerdy glaciologist Sebastian; two very different men, with two very different agendas. Torn between her head and her heart, Isla finds herself utterly lost in a winter wonderland of her own feelings.

Surrounded by twinkling candles and roaring log-fires, Isla’s resolve finally begins to melt. But will she learn how to reconnect, not only with a whole new family, but with herself and her heart?

A gorgeously heart-warming festive read to help spark a little romance in those long winter nights. Perfect for fans of Jane Linfoot, Debbie Johnson and Jenny Colgan.

thumbnail_A-Cosy-Candlelit-Christmas-Kindle 400

My Review:

Initially I wasn’t planning on reading this book, as the blurb didn’t appeal to me quite as much as other Christmas books I had my eye on. However, after reading and loving A Very Vintage Christmas a few weeks ago, I just had to give this one a read too. My verdict is that I didn’t love A Cosy Candlelit Christmas quite as much as A Very Vintage Christmas, but I did still love it.

Again, this has romance running through the story, but it is also so much more than that. I loved the story of a family torn apart many years ago and the struggle to come to terms with the past in an attempt to move forward.

My favourite characters by far were Sebastian and Dahlia. I loved Sebastian’s geekiness, in the way I love Chris Packham for his quirkiness and passionate love of nature and animals. Dahlia was adorably caring of others, even if she hardly knew them. I did eventually grow to like Isla, but as I feel I’m much more like her best friend, Dodie, who I got to know in the previous book, I wouldn’t say I fully connected with Isla. The less said about Justin the better, as I really wasn’t keen on him at all.

Out of the seven Christmassy books I’ve read this year so far, this one definitely qualifies as the most scenic and the one with the most snow. I had to wrap up warm each time I picked this book up, as it was somewhat chilly in the French resort of Saint-Martin-de-Belleville during the run-up to Christmas.

Despite feeling less festive than A Very Vintage Christmas, I’m pleased to say there was tinsel, turkey, crackers, and did I mention the snow? Ooh, think of all the snowmen we could build.

A Cosy Candlelit Christmas is definitely one I recommend if you enjoy stories about family, romance, and have dreams of a white Christmas.

5 Stars

5-stars-buttons

Where to find this book:

Goodreads

Amazon UK

Amazon US

About the Author:

thumbnail_23776_1435621208482_8239110_n 350

Tilly Tennant was born in Dorset, the oldest of four children, but now lives in Staffordshire with a family of her own. After years of dismal and disastrous jobs, including paper plate stacking, shop girl, newspaper promotions and waitressing (she never could carry a bowl of soup without spilling a bit), she decided to indulge her passion for the written word by embarking on a degree in English and creative writing. She wrote a novel in 2007 during her first summer break at university and has not stopped writing since. She also works as a freelance fiction editor, and considers herself very lucky that this enables her to read many wonderful books before the rest of the world gets them.

Hopelessly Devoted to Holden Finn was her debut novel; published in 2014 it was an Amazon bestseller in both the UK and Australia. In 2016 she signed to the hugely successful Bookouture and is currently working on her tenth Tilly Tennant novel. She also writes as Sharon Sant, where she explores the darker side of life, and Poppy Galbraith, where things get a little crazier. Find out more about Tilly and how to join her mailing list for news and exclusives at http://www.tillytennant.com

Where to find the author:

Twitter

Facebook

Instagram

Website

Here are the details of the blog blitz in case any of you wish to follow it:

thumbnail_A Cosy Candlelit Christmas - Blog Blitz 450

Advertisements

One thought on “#BlogBlitz #BookReview A Cosy Candlelit Christmas by Tilly Tennant @TillyTenWriter @bookouture

Comments are closed.