5 Star Reviews · Blog Tour

#BlogBlitz #BookReview – Heartaches and Christmas Cakes by Amy Miller @AmyBratley1 @bookouture

I’m so excited to be part of the blog blitz for the wonderful Heartaches and Christmas Cakes, written by Amy Miller and published by Bookouture. I loved this book ❤

Blurb:

Heartaches and Christmas Cakes: A wartime family saga perfect for cold winter nights (Wartime Bakery Book 1)

December, 1940: All that Audrey Barton wants is her family together for Christmas. But the war changes everything… 

The Barton family bakery in Bournemouth has been at the heart of the town for generations: Audrey and Charlie Barton have never been rich, but their bread and cakes – and their love and advice – have enriched the lives of others in the town for many years.

When war breaks out, it doesn’t take long for trouble to arrive on the bakery doorstep. Audrey’s brother William has joined up to fight, and William’s fiancé Elsie fears she may lose him before their life together has even begun. Audrey’s stepsister Lily comes to stay, but Lily is clearly hiding a dark secret. 

And a silent and strange little girl is evacuated to the town – will Audrey get to the heart of what is ailing her? 

Audrey battles to keep hope and love alive in tumultuous times. But when disaster strikes at Christmas, will her efforts be in vain? 

This is the first book in a heartwarming and romantic new saga series, perfect for fans of The Gingerbread Girl, Nadine Dorries and Ellie Dean.
 

Heartaches-and-Christmas-Cakes-Kindle

My Review:

I’ve been really looking forward to reading Heartaches and Christmas Cakes, and I’m pleased to say I absolutely loved it.

This is a heart-breaking yet also heart-warming wartime family saga with some great characters and a wonderful close-knit community. I’d say this is quite a quick read, especially as the story flows so well and is hard to put down.

Sometimes I feel like I have it hard being a Navy wife, but I don’t know how family and loved ones of those serving away during the war actually coped. The part of the story that focused on the war and casualties caused by it made my heart ache. All that death and loss. Such a waste of life!

Despite the wartime focus, Heartaches and Christmas Cakes is also a wonderful story of love, romance, family, friendship, secrets, charity and a tasty bakery. I’ve been craving Christmas cake ever since starting this book. I actually cried at the end, but was also left with a strong feeling of hope. Hope is what drives us as humans and keeps us going through the tough times. I really did feel for some of the characters in this story.

A wonderful touching story. I can’t wait to see what this author comes up with next.

5 Stars

5-stars-buttons

Where to find this book:

Goodreads

Amazon UK

Amazon US

About the Author:

Amy Miller author pic

Amy Miller is the pseudonym of Amy Bratley, who started her writing life working on magazines and newspapers. She has previously written three women’s fiction novels published by Pan Macmillan, the first of which was a bestseller in Italy. Her day job is being a freelance managing editor of both a vintage interiors magazine and a food magazine, two subjects she’s passionate about. Amy lives in Dorset with her husband and two children.

Where to find the author:

Twitter

Facebook

Here are the details of the blog blitz in case any of you wish to follow it:

Heartaches and Christmas cakes - Blog Tour

 

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “#BlogBlitz #BookReview – Heartaches and Christmas Cakes by Amy Miller @AmyBratley1 @bookouture

  1. Great review, Jules. I love the sound of HEARTACHES AND CHRISTMAS CAKES. I am always keen to read books set in WW2, especially when they are so full of warmth and hope. And I wouldn’t mind have the thought of Christmas cake in my head whilst reading!

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.