4 Star Reviews · Blog Tour

#BlogTour #Review – Snowflakes, Iced Cakes and Second Chances, by @suewatsonwriter @bookouture

I’m really happy to be part of the blog tour for Snowflakes, Iced Cakes and Second Chances, written by Sue Watson and published by Bookouture 🙂

Blurb:

Escape to the cosy little village of Appledore for hot chocolate with extra marshmallows and a second chance at love. Will this Christmas prove that miracles really can happen?

A year after she separated from her husband, Gianni, on Christmas day, Chloe’s heart is finally on the mend as she unpacks the decorations for her first ever festive holiday alone. That is, until the phone rings…

It’s the manager of Gianni’s new seaside restaurant in Appledore, begging for Chloe’s help. Equally famous for his gold-leaf Christmas puddings and his explosive temper, Gianni has been really stirring up a sensation with the locals – and not in a good way! It’s the last thing she wants to do, but Chloe knows she is the only one that can help.

As pans fly and the temperature in the kitchen rises, Chloe’s calming influence and magic touch might just get critics back on side in time to save the restaurant from sinking like a sad soufflé. But as Chloe’s eyes meet Gianni’s as they tussle over a plate of turkey tartlets, could there also be a chance for new romance on the menu? 

A laugh-out-loud festive treat that will give you the tingle of freshly hung tinsel. Perfect for fans of Jenny Colgan, Abby Clements and Debbie Johnson.

Snowflakes-Iced-Cakes-and-Second-Chances-Kindle 350

My Review:

This is the first book I’ve read by this author. I’ve seen a few of her other books, but as someone who can’t eat wheat, gluten or cow’s milk (amongst other things), the cake and ice cream themed titles torment rather than tempt me. However, I’m obsessed with Christmas books and films, so I just had to give Snowflakes, Iced Cakes and Second Chances a go. Having enjoyed this book, I’ve now added Snow Angels, Secrets and Christmas Cake to my wish list.

This story is based in Devon and focuses on a married couple who are recently separated, but thrown back together for work. Chloe is a strong and independent professional woman and Gianni is a talented, quirky and very grumpy chef. Will they be able to put their personal issues aside and stay professional? How will the tensions and hurt about the past impact on them now?

Gianni is so rude and annoying, although the way he speaks did make me giggle a few times. I had no idea why Chloe put up with his behaviour. She clearly had more patience than me. Mind you, I did eventually warm to him very slightly nearer the end of the story.

This is both a fun and satisfying story. I love reading stories about people starting out in a new community and seeing if they are able to integrate with the locals and make a success of things. I loved the character of Sue, who doesn’t have much luck with men, and seventy nine year old Roberta and her entertaining interactions with celebrities on Twitter.

I actually coped with the mention of food in this story too, phew! I wasn’t even tempted by the Christmas puddings, as they had garlic added to them. Yuck! Considering last week’s encounter with some garlic and onion resulting in my insides waging war against each other for a day and attempting to kill me off in the process, I’m more than happy to leave the garlic Christmas puddings for someone else. The one thing on Gianni’s menu I could have eaten would have been the chicken feet. Ooh, yummy chicken feet! Bleurgh! I’m not even going to go there. *Goes off to nibble on a rice cake…*

4 Stars

4-stars-buttons

Where to find this book:

Goodreads

Amazon UK

Amazon US

About the Author:

Sue Watson

Sue Watson was a journalist then a TV Producer at the BBC until she realised that instead of working, she could stay at home, make stuff up and sell it! 

So far Sue’s written ten books, and some have been translated into Italian and Portuguese (she’s big in Brazil!) Originally from Manchester, she now lives with her husband and teenage daughter in Worcestershire where her days are spent baking (and eating) lots of cake, while making big life decisions about whether to have Caramel Chew Chew or Salted Caramel ice cream while watching ‘The Biggest Loser USA,’ on TV.

Where to find the author:

Twitter

Facebook

Website

Here are the details of the blog tour in case any of you wish to follow it:

Snowflakes Iced Cakes and Second Chances - Blog Tour

Advertisement

6 thoughts on “#BlogTour #Review – Snowflakes, Iced Cakes and Second Chances, by @suewatsonwriter @bookouture

    1. Oh, yes, I’ve been a free frommer for about a decade. I’m a reluctant food intolerance collector, it seems. It’s beginning to get easier to say what I can eat, rather than what I can’t 😉

      Like

        1. Have you tried the low FODMAP diet? I’ve found that has really helped me. I had no idea what it was, until my GP asked me a couple of years or so ago what foods I had cut out due to symptoms, and was impressed I’d pretty much put myself on the low FODMAP diet without knowing what it was 😉

          Like

          1. Yeah I am on the full lowFODMAP, a dietitian out me on it about four years ago, we tried reintroducing some of the foods but I couldn’t tolerate them so I stayed on the full diet. It really turned things around for me.

            Liked by 1 person

            1. I agree. It’s amazing what a difference it makes! I couldn’t accept that vegetables of all things were causing me problems too, until I read up about the FODMAP diet after discovering I’d mostly already put myself on it. I do still sneak the occasional high FODMAP thing into my diet, but usually regret it, so try to stick to the diet. I absolutely love food, so some days I really wish I could just eat whatever I wanted.

              Like

Comments are closed.