4 Star Reviews

#Sampler #BookReview (4 Stars) – A Skinful of Shadows, by @FrancesHardinge @panmacmillan

Blurb:

Frances Hardinge weaves another darkly extraordinary tale in A Skinful of Shadows, her follow up to the Costa Award-winning novel The Lie Tree

‘Hardinge is an unusual talent who deserves to be read by children and adults alike’
Guardian

This is the story of a bear-hearted girl . . .

Sometimes, when a person dies, their spirit goes looking for somewhere to hide.
Some people have space within them, perfect for hiding.

Twelve-year-old Makepeace has learned to defend herself from the ghosts which try to possess her in the night, desperate for refuge, but one day a dreadful event causes her to drop her guard.

And now there’s a spirit inside her.

The spirit is wild, brutish and strong, and it may be her only defence when she is sent to live with her father’s rich and powerful ancestors. There is talk of civil war, and they need people like her to protect their dark and terrible family secret.

But as she plans her escape and heads out into a country torn apart by war, Makepeace must decide which is worse: possession – or death.

❤ I LOVE this front cover ❤

a skinful of shadows

My Review:

I was lucky enough to get my hands on a five chapter sampler of this book through NetGalley. Having really enjoyed The Lie Tree, I was eager to see what A Skinful of Shadows was about.

I found the start of this book really intriguing, as I have very vivid dreams myself. In fact, my dreams can often be more vivid that my waking life, so I do love books featuring dreams.

This is beautifully written and visually descriptive in a magical, ghostly and emotional kind of way.

Oh my goodness, the bear. I think it stole my heart.

Dying to read more of this story now!

4 Stars

4-stars-buttons

Where to find this book:

Goodreads

Amazon UK

3 thoughts on “#Sampler #BookReview (4 Stars) – A Skinful of Shadows, by @FrancesHardinge @panmacmillan

  1. I read The Lie Tree with my book club, and we all loved it (despite being middle aged adults!) so I can’t wait to get my hand on this! Like you, I love the cover. Great review that I have pinned and will share further….will send to the book club too. Claire x

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.