4 Star Reviews

#BookReview (4 Stars) – Last Seen, by Lucy Clarke @lucyclarkebooks @HarperCollinsUK #Thriller

Blurb:

In a small seaside community, there’s always somebody watching…

Twisty, pacy, and superbly plotted, Last Seen is the perfect psychological page-turner for fans of Clare Mackintosh and Sabine Durrant.

Seven years ago, two boys went missing at sea – and only one was brought to shore. The Sandbank, a remote stretch of coast dotted with beach huts, was scarred forever.

Sarah’s son survived, but on the anniversary of the accident, he disappears without trace. As new secrets begin to surface, The Sandbank hums with tension and unanswered questions. Sarah’s search grows more desperate and she starts to mistrust everyone she knows – and she’s right to.

Someone saw everything on that fateful day seven years ago. And they’ll do anything to keep the truth buried.

Last Seen

My Review:

I found the first half of this book a little slow and didn’t really connect with the characters. The second half was much better as secrets were revealed, making it hard to put down.

I personally wouldn’t describe Last Seen as an overly tense thriller, in that I didn’t find myself holding my breath. It had more of a family saga feel to it, covering topics such as love, jealousy and grief. There were a lot of secrets and lies. Some things I worked out in advance, but there were also some surprises in there too.

This book left me with a sickening and haunting feeling that some things can’t be undone no matter how hard you try ignore them or wish them away, and can shape you and your whole future.

Definitely one I recommend if you like the sound of the blurb.

4 Stars

4-stars-buttons

Where to find this book:

Goodreads

Amazon UK

Amazon US

Advertisements

3 thoughts on “#BookReview (4 Stars) – Last Seen, by Lucy Clarke @lucyclarkebooks @HarperCollinsUK #Thriller

Comments are closed.