4 Star Reviews

#BookReview (4 Stars) – Felicity at the Cross Hotel, by Helena Fairfax @HelenaFairfax #Romance

Blurb:

A quaint hotel in a romantic location. The Lake District is the perfect getaway. Or is it?

Felicity Everdene needs a break from the family business. Driving through the Lake District to the Cross Hotel, past the shining lake and the mountains, everything seems perfect. But Felicity soon discovers all is not well at the Cross Hotel …

Patrick Cross left the village of Emmside years ago never intending to return, but his father has left him the family’s hotel in his will, and now he’s forced to come back. With a missing barmaid, a grumpy chef, and the hotel losing money, the arrival of Felicity Everdene from the notorious Everdene family only adds to Patrick’s troubles.

With so much to overcome, can Felicity and Patrick bring happiness to the Cross Hotel … and find happiness for themselves?

Felicity

My Review:

Felicity at the Cross Hotel was a very enjoyable read.

I really liked Fliss. She’s eccentric, quirky and had a one-eyed stuffed giraffe (not a real one), so what’s not to love? The front cover definitely reflects her personality. She reminded me a little of myself, except I don’t do high heels, due to them crippling me within minutes of wearing them. Although, I much prefer to use the excuse that it’s because my husband is three inches shorter than me. It makes me feel less like I’m failing one of the challenges of womanhood, ha ha.

The best way to describe this story is a romance version of the TV series The Hotel Inspector, but with a lot less use of the word “Darling”. In fact, much to my relief, I think I may have only spotted it once. Phew! I love watching The Hotel Inspector, so I found the hotel side of this story somewhat satisfying.

The Tudor feast reminded me of the medieval banquet and entertainment we had at our wedding many years ago, so that felt rather nostalgic. The menu in this book was making my mouth water.

Although this story is positive overall, some of the characters do have personal issues they’re trying to deal with, so there are a couple of emotional topics covered, especially grief and regret.

This is definitely one I recommend if you fancy an overall feel-good romance.

4 Stars

4-stars-buttons

Where to find this book:

Goodreads

Amazon UK

Amazon US

3 thoughts on “#BookReview (4 Stars) – Felicity at the Cross Hotel, by Helena Fairfax @HelenaFairfax #Romance

Comments are closed.