4 Star Reviews

#BookReview (4 Stars) – Ensnared, by Rita Stradling @stradling_rita #Fairytales #SciFi

Blurb:

A Near Future Retelling of Beauty and the Beast

Alainn’s father is not a bad man. He’s a genius and an inventor. When he’s hired to create the robot Rose, Alainn knows taking the money is a mistake.

Rose acts like a human. She looks exactly like Alainn. But, something in her comes out wrong.

To save her father from a five year prison sentence, Alainn takes Rose’s place. She says goodbye to the sun and goes to live in a tower no human is allowed to enter. She becomes the prisoner of a man no human is allowed to see.

Believing that a life of servitude lies ahead, Alainn finds a very different fate awaits her in the company of the strange, scarred recluse.

[This novel contains adult situations and is only suitable for readers who are 18+]

My Review:

I was attracted to this book initially by its earlier cover, which is the one currently showing as the paperback cover on Amazon, although I think the newer Kindle cover reflects the story more accurately. I’m just grateful the paperback cover was the one I saw first, otherwise I’m not sure I would have read this book. When I read the blurb and discovered it was a sort of science fiction Beauty and the Beast, I just had to read it. I love fairy tales and I enjoy science fiction if there are good characters within the story.

I’m pleased to say that I really enjoyed this book. I was a little concerned it might be a bit too Young Adult for me, but that turned out not to be the case, and I would say it’s more New Adult. Phew! I got really into this story and felt for the characters. The last third of the story was so tense I struggled to put the book down.

If you like fairy tale retellings, then I recommend adding this to your list of books to read. Think Beauty and the Beast with some humans, naughty and stubborn robots, as well a few cute but cheeky futuristic monkeys. Oh, and don’t read this when feeling hungry, otherwise it’ll make you feel more hungry. I had to crawl out of bed one night and get myself a banana and a packet of Hula Hoops, as it made me feel so hungry. Definitely best read on a full stomach.

4 Stars

4-stars-buttons

Where to find this book:

Goodreads

Amazon UK

Amazon US

One thought on “#BookReview (4 Stars) – Ensnared, by Rita Stradling @stradling_rita #Fairytales #SciFi

Comments are closed.