3 Star Reviews

#BookReview (3 Stars) – One Of Us Is Lying, by Karen M. McManus #YoungAdult #YAfiction

Blurb:

Yale hopeful Bronwyn has never publicly broken a rule.

Sports star Cooper only knows what he’s doing in the baseball diamond.

Bad body Nate is one misstep away from a life of crime.

Prom queen Addy is holding together the cracks in her perfect life.

And outsider Simon, creator of the notorious gossip app at Bayview High, won’t ever talk about any of them again.

He dies 24 hours before he could post their deepest secrets online. Investigators conclude it’s no accident. All of them are suspects.

Everyone has secrets, right?

What really matters is how far you’ll go to protect them.

OOUIL

My Review:

This was an okay read. Initially from the blurb I was convinced it was going to be a sort of murder mystery version of The Breakfast Club, which it was at first. However, detention didn’t last very long. How inconvenient that someone should die so soon during detention and spoil my fun.

I found the beginning of the book exciting and intriguing, but I soon found myself losing interest. I know that I can be hit-and-miss with Young Adult fiction, and unfortunately on this occasion it was more miss than hit. I found myself going through the motions, but not really connecting with any of the characters.

What is a coincidence is that a few days ago I started watching Pretty Little Liars for the first time. I’m hooked, and I do think this may have reduced my enjoyment of this book, as it definitely reminds me of the series, but I’m enjoying watching the series far more than I enjoyed reading this book.

There’s nothing specifically wrong with this story, it just wasn’t for me. I think I just prefer this genre of book to be darker and more tense. However, I’m sure there are lots of others who will love it, so don’t just base your decision on my review alone.

3 Stars

3-stars-buttons

Where to find this book:

Goodreads

Amazon UK

7 thoughts on “#BookReview (3 Stars) – One Of Us Is Lying, by Karen M. McManus #YoungAdult #YAfiction

    1. I suspect it’s one of those books you’ll love if you enjoy lots of YA fiction. I think because I don’t read a lot of YA fiction, I tend to find it too shallow and not shocking/tense enough. I know not all YA fiction is like that, in fact, it’s probably the darker/heavier stuff that I end up really enjoying, which is why I won’t give up on reading YA fiction from time to time 🙂

      Like

  1. I’ve heard a lot of rave reviews of this books so it’s always nice to have another perspective. I’m a big fan of YA though so I’m definitely going to check it out.

    I’m new to blogging and book reviewing, and I was wondering if you had any tips for newbie bloggers and book reviewers.

    If you have the time, please check out my blog @breenysbooks. I’d love any feedback. Have a wonderful day.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Fingers crossed you enjoy this book more than me 🙂

      I’ve been book reviewing for a few years, but quite new to blogging, so still getting the hang of it. I’ve just had a sneaky peek at your blog and it looks really good. I’ve followed you 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.