4 Star Reviews

#BookReview (4 Stars) – Alice in Brexitland, by Lucien Young

Blurb:

Lying on a riverbank on a lazy summer’s afternoon – 23rd June 2016, to be precise – Alice spots a flustered-looking white rabbit called Dave calling for a referendum. Following him down a rabbit-hole, she emerges into a strange new land, where up is down, black is white, experts are fools and fools are experts…

She meets such characters as the Corbynpillar, who sits on a toadstool smoking his hookah and being no help to anyone; Humpty Trumpty, perched on a wall he wants the Mexicans to pay for; the Cheshire Twat, who likes to disappear leaving only his grin, a pint, and the smell of scotch eggs remaining; and the terrifying Queen of Heartlessness, who’ll take off your head if you dare question her plan for Brexit. Will Alice ever be able to find anyone who speaks sense?

Alice in Brexitland

My Review:

I love Alice in Wonderland and I enjoy politics. I’m one of those rare people who manages to remain quite calm while discussing politics, so despite not being a fan of comedy I had to give this a go. One might say I was “curiouser and curiouser”. I’m sure I’ve heard that somewhere before.

This story is a quick and funny read, which had me laughing out loud in numerous places. I have to say, I loved the name Trumpty Dumpty. The illustrations were also an entertaining touch.

Alice in Brexitland is written from the viewpoint that Brexit is a crazy idea, but I reckon it will be enjoyed by readers on both sides of the debate, although I was on the fence of the Brexit debate for quite a while, so I didn’t have particularly extreme views either way.

This is definitely one I recommend if you like the sound of the blurb.

4 Stars

4-stars-buttons

Where to find this book:

Goodreads

Amazon UK

 

One thought on “#BookReview (4 Stars) – Alice in Brexitland, by Lucien Young

Comments are closed.