4 Star Reviews

#BookReview (4 Stars) – No Safe Home, by @taralyonsauthor @Bloodhoundbook #CrimeFiction

Blurb:

The gripping new crime thriller everybody is talking about

Detective Inspector Denis Hamilton is haunted when the suspicious death of a teenage girl triggers suppressed memories. With a stalker targeting vulnerable women in Central London, and his team rapidly diminishing, Hamilton must conquer his emotions before another family is destroyed.

In a sleepy town in Hertfordshire, Katy has worked hard to rebuild her life after leaving behind everything she knew. But when her past catches up with her, and her young son’s life is threatened, Katy must admit her true identity if she has any hope of surviving.

A home should be a safe place, shouldn’t it?

But sometimes it is hard to know who you can trust…

London’s murder investigations team returns in the second novel from the bestselling author of In the Shadows.

Tara Lyons is the best-selling author of In The Shadows her books will appeal to fans of authors like Helen H. Durrant, Angela Marsons and Rachel Abbott.

No Safe Home

My Review:

Having really enjoyed In The shadows (I’m singing The Rasmus song again), I was really looking forward to reading No Safe Home. I’m pleased to report that I really enjoyed this book too.

Without going into great detail this is a fast paced crime thriller that focuses on a scary man in a balaclava who appears to be targeting women with young children.

I thought the characters were great, and I became emotionally involved in the somewhat intense situation as it unfolded. It was also very thought provoking, because as a woman, it had me questioning what I would do in the same situation.

No Safe Home was rather tense in places and I found it hard to put down. This book had me wishing I could read faster, as I needed to know what was going to happen next.

Reading this while home alone wasn’t the best idea. I reckon I spent about half an hour checking and rechecking all the doors and windows before bed last night. I was spooked by the noise of the water pipes, nearly wet myself when I tripped over my boots in the kitchen while the light was off, jumped at my own shadow, and in my hysteria even forgot I had a dog, which had I been feeling more rational at the time, would have easily explained the noises on the floorboards. Gosh!

This is a great book for crime thriller fans, and although this is book two in the D.I. Denis Hamilton series it can be read as a standalone novel.

4 Stars

4-stars-buttons

Where to find this book:

Goodreads

Amazon UK

Amazon US

Advertisements

3 thoughts on “#BookReview (4 Stars) – No Safe Home, by @taralyonsauthor @Bloodhoundbook #CrimeFiction

    1. Thanks, Claire 🙂

      I absolutely love that song. I still remember the day I was housecleaning and had Kerrang on the TV in the background, and In The Shadows came on for the first time. I was glued to the screen and instantly fell in love with Lauri Ylonen. I saw The Rasmus live a few times back in the day, and was even lucky enough to meet them once, eek 😉 xxx

      Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.