4 Star Reviews

Book Review (4 Stars) – The Teacher by Katerina Diamond @TheVenomousPen @CrimeFix @AvonBooksUK

Blurb:

‘A terrific story, originally told. All hail the new Queen of Crime!’ HEAT

‘A web of a plot that twists and turns and keeps the reader on the edge of their seat. This formidable debut is a page-turner, but don’t read it before bed if you’re easily spooked!’ SUN

You think you know who to trust? You think you know the difference between good and evil? You’re wrong…

The body of the head teacher of an exclusive Devon school is found hanging from the rafters in the assembly hall.

Hours earlier he’d received a package, and only he could understand the silent message it conveyed. It meant the end.

As Exeter suffers a rising count of gruesome deaths, troubled DS Imogen Grey and DS Adrian Miles must solve the case and make their city safe again.

But as they’re drawn into a network of corruption, lies and exploitation, every step brings them closer to grim secrets hidden at the heart of their community.

And once they learn what’s motivating this killer, will they truly want to stop him?

SMART. GRIPPING. GRUESOME.

This is a psychological crime thriller in a class of its own.

WARNING: Most definitely not for the faint-hearted!

The Teacher1

My Review:

I’ve had The Teacher on my wish list for ages, and having recently bought a paperback copy, I decided to make myself read it before it ended up at the bottom of one of my many piles of books to read.

I’m pleased to say I really enjoyed this crime thriller. Some of the descriptions of the murders are rather graphic and gruesome, but I grew up on horror, so I found those scenes okay. I wouldn’t say pleasant, but I wasn’t exactly vomiting in a bucket after reading them.

At first I wasn’t really sure where the story was going, but enjoyed getting to know each of the characters independently of how they fit into the overall story. This book keeps you guessing. Wondering what actually happened in the past and how the different characters are linked to each other. There is an interesting mix of characters, and I particularly liked a couple of characters who were victims, yet survivors. I’m usually of the belief that two wrongs don’t make a right and that revenge achieves very little, but revenge was oh so sweet and satisfying in this book.

I also loved the short titles at the beginning of each chapter, such as The Headmaster, The Outsider, The Taxidermist, The Trick, The Newsreader, The Accident and The Monster. Each of the titles raised my interest in the chapter I had just begun to read.

I definitely recommend this book to crime and thriller fans if you don’t mind the odd gruesome murder. I look forward to reading more by this author in the future.

4 Stars

4-stars-buttons

Where to find this book:

Goodreads

Amazon UK

The Teacher Buttons 2

7 thoughts on “Book Review (4 Stars) – The Teacher by Katerina Diamond @TheVenomousPen @CrimeFix @AvonBooksUK

  1. I had this book for Christmas, but still haven’t read it. I chose it myself as it sounded like my kind of read. Your review has just reinforced that opinion. I’m looking forward to reading it. Great review. Ps. I don’t mind the odd gruesome murder and a good bit of revenge is tasty in a book.😉
    Amanda.

    Like

  2. I got half way through this one on audio book before I had to return it for another user – and I’m still waiting for my turn in line to finish it! The part I’ve listened to is really good (although I obviously haven’t finished it). Like you said, the ‘murders’ are very gruesome, but there is also the tension between the two police officers, and the woman and the man at the museum (I can’t remember their names…) It reminded me very much of the film Se7en, in the sense that there is logic in there somehow, we just don’t know what that logic is until the end. I enjoyed your review!

    Like

Leave a Reply

