4 Star Reviews

Book Review (4 Stars) – Evie’s Year of Taking Chances, by Christie Barlow (@ChristieJBarlow) @bookouture

Blurb:

It’s Evie’s birthday and the start of a year she’ll never forget. An emotional story of love, friendship and grabbing life by the horns.

Evie’s job has always been her safe haven. As a librarian in the little town of Becton she loses herself in books – after all it’s far easier to read about other people’s problems than set about solving her own.

Then, one birthday, everything is turned upside down. A mysterious parcel containing a beautiful book with a poignant inscription arrives for Evie. It’s the beginning of a new chapter for Evie and she’s inspired to try and find her real mother.

Evie’s search leads her to meet handsome author Noah Jones. Charming and intelligent, Noah seems the perfect catch but what Evie doesn’t realise is that he is hiding something – a key to Evie’s past.

As Evie gets closer to Noah and discovering her mother, she must take a giant leap of faith. Can she embrace the new and make this her year of taking chances? And if she does, will she get her heart broken?

A romantic, funny and poignant story of living life to the full and finding love in the most unlikely of places. Fans of Debbie Johnson and Cathy Bramley will adore this book!

Evie's Year of Taking Chances

My Review:

Having enjoyed Kitty’s Countryside Dream and absolutely loving Lizzie’s Christmas Escape, I was really looking forward to reading Evie’s Year of Taking Chances. This was another thoroughly enjoyable story of friendship, family, love, regrets, forgiveness and hope.

I loved that most of the characters in this book were librarians, authors, and members of a book club. Ideal for reading obsessed book lovers like myself. On the subject of characters, there was a great mix of personalities in this story. This author always creates loveable characters.

Although this story does cover a couple of sensitive subjects, it had an overall feel-good atmosphere to it. Some parts made me giggle, other parts made me cry happy tears.

I spent quite a while convinced I knew who a particular person was going to end up being, but I was completely wrong and ended up getting an unexpected surprise instead.

I felt the story was a little bit too far-fetched and convenient to feel completely realistic, but this didn’t spoil my enjoyment of the story. It reminded me of those feel-good Christmas films I love so much, just without the Christmas theme. Enjoyable escapism.

4 Stars

4-stars-buttons

Where to find this book:

Goodreads

Amazon UK

Amazon US

Advertisements

One thought on “Book Review (4 Stars) – Evie’s Year of Taking Chances, by Christie Barlow (@ChristieJBarlow) @bookouture

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s