4 Star Reviews · Blog Tour

Blog Tour: Mystery at Maplemead Castle, by Kitty French @KFrenchBooks

I’m really excited to be writing this blog post, as this is only my second time being involved in a blog tour, and my first time doing it for the wonderful publishers, Bookouture. I love so many of their fabulous books and talented authors.

Blurb:

Welcome to Chapelwick, a leafy English town in the hills of Shropshire, where chocolate pecan cookies come with a helping of sabotage.

Maplemead Castle is crawling with ghosts, and the new owners need them gone. When Melody Bittersweet and the Girls’ Ghostbusting Agency arrive on scene, they quickly identify the troublemakers swinging from the chandeliers… literally. 

A century ago, stunning trapeze artist Britannia Lovell plunged to her death, and has done every night since. But did she really just fall, or was there something more to her demise?

Forced to work with Leo Dark, her scoundrel ex, and infuriating, irresistible reporter Fletcher Gunn, Melody’s investigative powers are under strain (i.e. lost in a pink mist of lust and confusion). She needs her team on top form, but best friend Marina’s cake pipeline goes AWOL, assistant Artie’s distracted by a giant sausage roll, and the pug is scared witless by a lion.

Somewhere, hidden in the castle, is a heart-breaking secret, but what will it take to find it? And is there a chance it could set Britannia free, or is she doomed to repeat her last fateful act forever?

An utterly hilarious, gripping, spooktastic read for fans of HY Hanna, MC Beaton, Gina LaManna and Jana DeLeon.

Mystery-at-Maplemead-Castle-Kindle 350

My Review:

Having thoroughly enjoyed The Skeletons of Scarborough House, I couldn’t wait to read Mystery at Maplemead Castle to see what giggles and ghostly shenanigans were going to take place this time. This book was so much fun, and if you liked the first book, you’ve got to read this one too.

I’m still giggling at some of the images this book has left me with, such as Robert Downey Jr. and his iron helmet, which made me laugh out loud, a proper head in my hands giggle to myself. Then there were furry bat pyjamas, sexy superheroes, Poldark, a tiny dog and a huge ghostly lion encountering each other. I can’t help but think that Lestat the pug isn’t quite Scooby Doo though. Melody’s initial response to the lion had me in stitches, and brought back a memory from almost 20 years ago when I discovered a dead mouse in our house. My hubby had no idea what was going on at the time, while he watched me go through every possible emotion in the space of a few seconds. He thought I’d completely lost the plot.

I love Melody Bittersweet. She makes me want to live in the book and be her best friend. If she was of this world, rather than a fictional one, then we’d definitely be friends, as we’re so similar, although I grew out of seeing ghosts when I was a teenager. I think I was quite a weird kid at school, a strange combination of shy, chatty, geeky and quirky. This book had me laughing at my lack of coordination during sports at school. When I saw a ball coming towards me, it took all my willpower not to duck or run away from it. I really wish more bullies at my school were deterred by the film Carrie.

This book also had me craving a Curly Wurly. Imagine my sheer delight the following day when I discovered a Curly Wurly in the bottom of my chocolate drawer. It was even in date. I was very impressed, and happily munched on it, despite the sticky toffee giving me toothache. Nom, nom, nom.

I LOVED the ending and seeing what Melody learnt from the ghosts. It was so touching and emotional, and I even had tears in my eyes. This book is a fun mix of nostalgia, mischief and romance …oh, and mysterious ghostly shenanigans, of course.

I’m now really looking forward to the next book in this series. At the time of writing this review, the first book, The Skeletons of Scarborough House is just 99p on Amazon Kindle, and definitely worth every penny.

4 Stars

4-stars-buttons

Where to find this book:

Goodreads

Amazon UK

Amazon US

About the Author:

Kitty French 350

USA Today best selling author Kitty French writes romantic comedy and hot romance, all best enjoyed with your feet up and a glass of your favourite tipple!

The USA Today best selling Lucien Knight romance series has been a hit around the world, and the Melody Bittersweet Ghost-busting series is perfect for readers of cosy mystery with a heavy dose of humour.

Kitty is also the disreputable alter-ego of a romantic comedy writer Kat French. She writes full time, and lives in England with her husband and two little boys.

Where to find the author:

Facebook

Twitter

Here are the details of the blog tour in case any of you wish to follow it:

Mystery at maplemead Castle - Blog Tour 70%

One thought on “Blog Tour: Mystery at Maplemead Castle, by Kitty French @KFrenchBooks

Comments are closed.