4 Star Reviews

Book Review (4 Stars) – The Escape, by C. L. Taylor

Blurb:

“Look after your daughter’s things. And your daughter…”

When a stranger asks Jo Blackmore for a lift she says yes, then swiftly wishes she hadn’t.

The stranger knows Jo’s name, she knows her husband Max and she’s got a glove belonging to Jo’s two year old daughter Elise.

What begins with a subtle threat swiftly turns into a nightmare as the police, social services and even Jo’s own husband turn against her.

No one believes that Elise is in danger. But Jo knows there’s only one way to keep her child safe – RUN.

The Escape

My Review:

The Escape starts off as a tense and fast paced psychological thriller. The kind that finds you holding your breath, and experiencing that uncomfortable and almost desperate feeling when you fear that no one believes you. That gets me every time!

I felt this book was in two parts, because the first part felt like a psychological thriller, and I had the suspense of not knowing where it was going, but then the later part of the book felt very different. It was much more predictable and there weren’t many surprises for me. Having said that, I still enjoyed the second half, as it focussed on some past events which were emotional. I would say the second half of the book felt more like women’s fiction, which I enjoy anyway.

4 Stars

4-stars-buttons

Where to find this book:

Goodreads

Amazon UK

Amazon US

4 thoughts on “Book Review (4 Stars) – The Escape, by C. L. Taylor

    1. It will be interesting to see if others agree with my experience of the book. For me it had two very different styles to it, and yes, I would say I enjoyed the first part more, as I was in the mood for a psychological thriller with lots of suspense. If the later part had continued along the same lines as the first part, then it would probably have been a 5 star read for me.

      Like

Leave a Reply

