4 Star Reviews · Blog Tour

Blog Tour: An Impossible Dilemma, by Netta Newbound

Firstly, this is my very first blog tour post ever. How exciting! Thank you to Sarah Hardy for her support and encouragement. I was so pleased to be asked to be involved in the blog tour for Netta Newbound’s An Impossible Dilemma, which is published by Bloodhound Books. Perhaps this is the beginning of a new blogging adventure for me. But for now, let me tell you about this great book and talented author.

Blurb:

Would you choose to save your child if it meant someone else had to die?

Victoria and Jonathan Lyons seem to have everything—a perfect marriage, a beautiful daughter, Emily, and a successful business. Until they discover Emily, aged five, has a rare and fatal illness.

Medical trials show that a temporary fix would be to transplant a hormone from a living donor. However in the trials the donors die within twenty four hours. Victoria and Jonathan are forced to accept that their daughter is going to die.

In an unfortunate twist of fate Jonathan is suddenly killed in a farming accident and Victoria turns to her sick father-in-law, Frank, for help. Then a series of events present Victoria and Frank with a situation that, although illegal, could save Emily.

Will they take their one chance and should they?

A Sinister and Darkly Compelling Psychological Thriller Novel, this book is intended for mature audiences and contains graphic and disturbing imagery.

netta-cover-smaller

My Review:

I absolutely love this cover. It really captures the darkness within the pages of this book.

An Impossible Dilemma is a psychological thriller with some good twists and shocks throughout.

At first I felt too shell shocked to get my head around this fully. Having read this a while ago, I can now post a review with less of the “Oh my goodness, what just happened?” kind of comments.

This book had my emotions all over the place. Sometimes it was tense and emotional, at other times it was horrific, and on occasions it had a very dark comedy feel to it. This story had quite a psychological impact on me at times, and raised the interesting concept of nature versus nurture, which I found fascinating.

One incident had me almost screaming out loud. I felt physically sick and had sweaty palms from the stress of it. Another, had me holding my hand over my mouth for the entire time, and I could feel myself physically backing away from my Kindle in an attempt to avoid face contact with an unpleasant object.

The pigs made me think of Hannibal, and my tummy is churning slightly at the thought of the bacon I had for lunch, as the memories of this book come flooding back.

Frank was my favourite character. He had that ‘calm in a crisis’ personality, which was about the only thing that kept me sane while reading this.

I highly recommend this book if you enjoy dark psychological thrillers.

Where to find this book:

Goodreads

Amazon UK

Amazon US

About the Author:

netta

Netta Newbound, originally from Manchester, England, now lives in New Zealand with her husband Paul and their boxer dog Alfie. She has three grown-up children and three delicious grandchildren.

As a child, Netta was plagued by a wild imagination, often getting in trouble for making up weird and wonderful stories. Yet she didn’t turn her attention to writing until after her children had grown and left home.

Although she mostly writes psychological thriller novels, all of which consistently rank highly in the best seller categories, she has also written several non-fiction books with a close friend and fellow author under the names of Sandra Rose & Jeanette Simone.

Where to find the author:

Facebook

Twitter

Here are the details of the blog tour in case any of you wish to follow it:

netta-blog-tour

2 thoughts on “Blog Tour: An Impossible Dilemma, by Netta Newbound

Comments are closed.