4 Star Reviews

Book Review (4 Stars) – How to Mend a Broken Heart, by Anna Mansell

Blurb:

A compelling, heartbreaking tale that will make you laugh, cry and believe in the kindness of strangers. Perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes, Lucy Dillon and Miranda Dickinson.

Life is good for nurse Kat. That is until the man she intended to marry legs it, she’s unexpectedly promoted to a position with too much responsibility, and a patient arrives on her ward under strange circumstances.

Susan is a mystery. She refuses to speak or interact with anyone, she’s obsessed with a book of fairy tales, and the only name in her diary is that of Rhys – a plumber she barely knows.

Down-to-earth Rhys is trying to get his life back on track after the death of his beloved brother. His mum is his priority, and she needs him as much as he needs her. Or at least she did, until she starts disappearing, leaving him to find comfort in the form of his brother’s girlfriend.

Complicated is an understatement.

As the lives of these three lost strangers intertwine, will they find a way to lay ghosts past, present and future to rest? And when the chance comes to mend their broken hearts, will they be brave enough to take it?

how-to-mend-a-broken-heart

My Review:

Firstly, I adore the cover of this book.

Although this book does include a couple of heavy subjects, the overall feel of the story is hopeful and uplifting.

I thought the characters were very likeable and I loved the way they were connected to each other. I thoroughly enjoyed this story as it unravelled and I found it hard to put down. I was there with each of the characters, feeling what they were feeling. This story definitely touched my heart.

If you’re wanting a very light chick lit read full of happiness and no sadness, then I wouldn’t recommend choosing this, but if you fancy a lighter read to your usual hold-your-breath-thriller type books, then this is the perfect in-between book that tells the story at a comfortable pace to calm you a little before your next psychological thriller. I would say this book falls into the categories of women’s fiction and romance.

4 Stars

4-stars-buttons

Where to find this book:

Goodreads

Amazon UK

Amazon US

Where to find the author:

Facebook

Twitter

Advertisements

2 thoughts on “Book Review (4 Stars) – How to Mend a Broken Heart, by Anna Mansell

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s